none
Help me design my DPM RRS feed

• Question

• Get any coffee or bathroom breaks out of the way before starting to read this post J

I have installed DPM 2012 and am evaluating this product to replace my Backup Exec 2010 system, which I have been using for several years. We recently implemented Hyper-V on a two node, Windows 2012 cluster, and many of my servers have already been virtualized. I have about 15 servers running everything from Windows 2000 to Windows 2008 R2, although most of them are Windows 2003 by now. I’m planning to take local backups of my Win2000 machines and just save those to one of my 2003 boxes and back them up from there. My recovery goals basically break down into 3 areas. Below I list each of these and then I explain how I am considering addressing each one. Much of what I say below is based on a very basic knowledge of DPM, I have only been using DPM for a few weeks and am just now beginning to understand the basics.

1…File Shares : I need 2-3 recovery points each day Monday through Saturday and keep these backups for 7 years. Users need to recover files themselves.

Create a Protection Group called “File Shares”

Group Members: File shares only, no system state other data included

Short Term Retention: 21 days

Synchronization: 2 hours

Recovery Points: 11am and 8pm

Disk Allocation: 5TB

Long Term Retention (tape): 90 days (Each month a full backup is archived, these are kept for 7 years)

2…Disaster Recovery : I need full disaster recovery points taken each day, for all servers, and kept for only 2 weeks.

Create a Protection Group called “ Disaster Recovery”

Group Members: VHDs of All file servers, application servers, Exchange servers, Domain controllers

Short Term Retention: 3 days

Synchronization: Before creating Recovery Point

Recovery Points: 8pm

Disk Allocation: 3TB

Long Term Retention (tape): 14 days