none
Replica inconsistent - error 30111 - VSS Error after switiching to Hardware VSS Provider RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have been using the Hyper-V VSS Writer to backup two VMs - as a test. That worked fine for the last 2 weeks. Yesterday someone from the storage team installed the HP EVA hardware VSS provider on all Hyper-V hosts in the cluster. It is in the list of supported hardware VSS writer for DPM.

Yesterday night both VMs failed with error 30111 - the shadow copy provider had an unexpected error while trying to process the specified operation (0x8004230F). I checked the event log but didn't see anything that might be of help.

I am quite sure that it is a configuration issue with the hardware vss provider. I mean it worked just fine before they were installed. Unfortunately I have no knowledge of the HP EVA hardware VSS provider and don't know what to look for. Maybe there are tests that could be run? Is someone here familiar with it and could give me some advice what to look for?

Friday, February 15, 2013 12:21 PM

All replies

• Hi,

You should see Application event log entries from source hpEVA VSS hardware provider.

Until you get the hardware provider issue fixed, Add the following value on all of the nodes of the Hyper-V cluster.

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    [Software\Microsoft\Microsoft Data Protection Manager\Agent\UseSystemSoftwareProvider]

This should force VSS to use In-Box VSS Software provider.

Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread. Regards, Mike J. [MSFT] This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.

Friday, February 15, 2013 5:21 PM
  • Hi,