MDT 2013 and WinRE RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all

I am new to MDT 2013 and self taught over the last few weeks.

I am trying to install a custom Win10 image. I have this working, my problem is the recovery. At the moment I install Win10 through MDT 2013 onto the C: drive. MDT also sets up a hidden RECOVERY drive and copies over WinRE files. I activate windows, install office and activate. I will then SYSPREP the pc to OOBE and shutdown for the customer.

I then boot to WinPE and use DISM to capture for a recovery image. I put the captured WIM file on the recovery drive and power off.

When I tried to use the recovery WIM file, it does not use this WIM file but the original install files that I used to deploy the original image. All my customisation is lost.

Basically what I want to do is:

1. Deploy a standard image

2. Customize the image with Office and other software including activation

3. Sysprep to OOBE and shutdown

4. Capture the custom image and place on recovery drive

5. Be able to deploy the custom image as a recovery image either through SYSTEM IMAGE RECOVERY (if pc is not booting) or from RESET PC in windows.

Any help would be great.

Jay

Wednesday, July 24, 2019 9:42 AM

All replies

• While preparing system to capture, we have to consider these steps:

• Always build your capture systems on VMs. Capturing an image from hardware will result
    in driver injection failure on several new models coming out now. When building a
    universal image for deployment, you absolutely do not want any hardware-specific
    configurations in your image. Also avoid installing VM-specific applications. Building your
    image from a VM also allows you to use snapshots/state restores, which are very useful
    to run right before you begin the capture process.
    • Check for Windows Update until you will get all the latest updates in your system.
    • Need to ensure that the app store does not get automatically updated.
    • Apply Local GPO