none
Item Level Recovery not working RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have installed DPM 2012 SP1 installed on Server 2012 and I am backing up to a Tape library.

I am backing up Hyper-v virtual servers that are alkl located on a failover cluster using CSV's

I am new to DPM so I am testing a few things out before I go ahead and start protecting the network.

I am trying to use Item Level Recovery but I cannot view any files or folders.

I setup a test protection group to backup a small sever that is running. I installed the agent on all node's and that found the failover cluster group. In the protection group I selected the server that is listed under the failover cluster name and ticked the Hyper-V option. I created a recovery point and that ran and the point was created on the tape without any problems.

I go into the recovery section and I can see the backup under recoverable data/my domain name/server name/All protected Hyperv data/Backup using saved state. I select that and the recoverable Item lists C:\ClusterStorage\Volume2\VHDs\servername.vhdx.

I want to test out an ILR on that. From the help pages it says to just double click to mount the vhdx. I double click on it and nothing happens, no errors. It just doesn't do anything. I can run through recover wizard to recover the whole VM but I don't want to do that.

I tried with a another server but same thing.

Have I missed something? Is what I am trying to do achievable?

Monday, September 16, 2013 10:50 AM

Answers

All replies

• I have just seen the supported/unsupported table on http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh757981.aspx

Looks like ILR is not supported when recovering using Tape

• Marked as answer by drensta Tuesday, September 17, 2013 9:16 AM
    Monday, September 16, 2013 2:05 PM
  • Hi,

That is correct, we can only perform Hyper-V and SharePoint protection Item level Recovery (ILR) from short term disk based recovery points.