none
executing a vb script ... RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to vb script programming. I have a vb script which i saved with .vbs extension. The script is working fine but while execution DOS screen appears. earlier when i used to execute it no such screen appeared . I have also encountered that when right click on the vb script icon it shows 'open with command prompt' on top of the list instead 'Open', Please help me to find a solution. I do not want command prompt to appear on my Screen.
    Saturday, April 21, 2012 6:23 PM

Answers

• I suspect that the OP is talking about the symptoms of having the scripts run under the cscript.exe host as opposed to the more common situation of the Wscript.exe being the default host.  Since cscript.exe is a console application, it opens a console window while the script is executing.  The console window closes immediately following the script's completion, thus causing the 'flash' effect.

I'd suggest running wscript of cscript with its //h:WSCRIPT switch to force the GUI Wscript.exe host to be the default.  Either at the command prompt or via the Start/Run dialog, type ...

wscript //h:WSCRIPT

That should fix things.  If it doesn't, the OP will need to explain his circumstances further.

Tom Lavedas

Sunday, April 22, 2012 2:35 PM

All replies

• I am new to vb script programming. I have a vb script which i saved with .vbs extension. The script is working fine but while execution DOS screen appears. earlier when i used to execute it no such screen appeared . I have also encountered that when right click on the vb script icon it shows 'open with command prompt' on top of the list instead 'Open', Please help me to find a solution. I do not want command prompt to appear on my Screen.

We cannot be of much help without a copy of your script.

'Open with command prompt' is the normal top command and is not what is causing the problem.