none
Submit button in the Close Tasks to Update page (PWA 2010) RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hello,

    What is the use of the Submit button in the Close Tasks to Update page (PWA 2010)?

    Submit to whom?

    Thanks

    Friday, March 11, 2011 2:42 PM

Answers

  • To no one in particular. Though the name of the button changed, the behavior seems to be exactly the same as in 2007: it will save the setting but will not apply it until the project has been published.

    • Marked as answer by WLID1966 Friday, March 11, 2011 3:26 PM
    Friday, March 11, 2011 3:14 PM
  • Hi,

    no submit to some-one.

    Close to update is a Global Permission. So members of a whole group can be allowed to close tasks to update.
    To be allowed to close any task to update, group members need at least Open and Save permissions on group-category level. Publish is not required. So a person can have the permission to close tasks for a project, without being allowed to publish. He can use submit. Tasks will be closed, but not until this project was published by anyone else. You can see it like Save/Publish in Project client. Save does populate your data to DB, but only published changes will be displayed in Project Web App. Submit of closed tasks does happen, but tasks are kept open, until someone publishes this information.

    Regards
    Barbara

    • Marked as answer by WLID1966 Friday, March 11, 2011 3:26 PM
    Friday, March 11, 2011 3:16 PM
    Moderator

All replies

  • To no one in particular. Though the name of the button changed, the behavior seems to be exactly the same as in 2007: it will save the setting but will not apply it until the project has been published.

    • Marked as answer by WLID1966 Friday, March 11, 2011 3:26 PM
    Friday, March 11, 2011 3:14 PM
  • Hi,

    no submit to some-one.

    Close to update is a Global Permission. So members of a whole group can be allowed to close tasks to update.
    To be allowed to close any task to update, group members need at least Open and Save permissions on group-category level. Publish is not required. So a person can have the permission to close tasks for a project, without being allowed to publish. He can use submit. Tasks will be closed, but not until this project was published by anyone else. You can see it like Save/Publish in Project client. Save does populate your data to DB, but only published changes will be displayed in Project Web App. Submit of closed tasks does happen, but tasks are kept open, until someone publishes this information.

    Regards
    Barbara

    • Marked as answer by WLID1966 Friday, March 11, 2011 3:26 PM
    Friday, March 11, 2011 3:16 PM
    Moderator