Questions about Management Pack RRS feed

• Question

• Dear Sir,

Sorry I am new to SCOM, and I want to know the following but please if you can mention /describe the steps here "I do not want to go into technect pages":

• How to know each MP what is used for? "IN other words which servers are controller by which MP"
    • Where to see last time this server was reported as per the managment pack?
    • How to Export MP?
    • How to Export Customized Management Pack?
    • Is there any relation between ACS and Management Pack? "In my enviroment there is 1 SCOM Server and 1 ACS Server"

Please some details about the steps here.

Thank you very much

Monday, May 2, 2011 4:33 PM

Answers

• I need to check it tomorrow, but mainly I mean those 2 questions in general, I remeber I saw Exchange MP SQL MP AD MP, but the 2 questions still the same,

Where to see servers are discovered and monitored by them MPs?

Where to see the last reporting time and date?

Thanks

• Marked as answer by Dan Rogers Tuesday, May 3, 2011 3:29 PM
    Monday, May 2, 2011 9:59 PM

All replies

• Hi Jean,

Well tecnet pages are very informative and they do contain procedures you are asking for. DO you really want us to copy those texts here?

export mp - scom console - adminsitration - management packs - select management pack - click export. This is normally what you would do with the custom management apcks (the ones that are unsealed.

cant see last contacted this way. management server will create heartbeat failure alerts if a machines misses a few of those.

what an mp is used for.. well most have hints in their name - like SQL or Exchange. They will discover a role and monitor it.

Bob Cornelissen - BICTT (My BICTT Blog)
    Monday, May 2, 2011 4:49 PM
  • Dear Bob,

Thank you very much for your reply.

Sorry for my long questions, but I know some profissioinal people like you can help alot.