WSUS server and client configuration issues RRS feed

• Question

• I just inherited WSUS from my predecessor (it was turned off because of a full disk) so I’m still learning how to use it. Turning it back on I changed where updates should come from, they were stored locally and now I’m pulling them down off of the Microsoft Update location. What I’m seeing is that I have a bunch of computers that WSUS “sees” but are showing “Failed or Needed” status. Unless I visit each machine and manually do the updates this status does not change. Additionally I have some client computers (Windows 7) that are not showing up as managed by WSUS. If I reading this right I’m running version Update Services 6.2.9200.16384 on Management Console 3.0 Version 6.2 (build 9200) on Windows Server 2012.

How can I force WSUS to automatically update the “Failed and Needed” devices?

How can I get those clients that are not being managed by WSUS to be managed?

Some of the things that I have done so far on the server and clients are:

-          Create a GPO (see attached for WSUS)

-          wuauclt /detectnow

-          wuauclt /reportnow

-          wuauclt.exe /detectnow

-          gpupdate /force after modifying the GPO

I even ran the SolarWinds WSUS diagnostic (as a non-administrator) and got this as the output:

# Solarwinds® Diagnostic Tool for the WSUS Agent # 1/23/2015

Machine state

User rights:  User does not have administrative rights (Administrator rights are not available)

Update service status:  Running

Background Intelligent Transfer service status:    Running

OS Version:  Windows 8.1 Pro

Windows update agent version:   7.9.9600.17489 (WU Agent is OK)

Windows Update Agent configuration settings

Automatic Update:    Enabled

Options:  Automatically download and notify of installation

Use WSUS Server: Not found (There is no such key)

Windows Update Server:  Not found (There is no such key)

Windows Update Status Server:  Not found (There is no such key)