none
Notes in MS Project! RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new to MS Project but I used Excel a lot for many projects. Everything seems to be straight forward, there is one issue that I can't find a solution or an alternative: Notes.

For the tasks of the projects I need to add most of the time additional details: text, links to other documents, etc. I can do this if I double click on the task and this is perfect, but how do we display or print the notes? I see that each time I press enter and start a new row the application displays the notes with dots... and then we cannot see it in full unless you double click on it. I need to share the reports with other people not all of them have MS Project.

A list with tasks and notes for each task would be really useful.

Is there any way to achieve this or any workaround ? It is hard to believe that in a project you need only the title of the task.

Thank you,

George

• Edited by Geo-soft Tuesday, January 8, 2013 12:51 PM
    Tuesday, January 8, 2013 12:50 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hello George,

We've had this question a few times - I think the best thread to look to for an answer is this one, which desribes how to get a view with your notes in it:

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/projectprofessional2010general/thread/9ccd5cb4-eb36-47b8-ab6e-f3eff400243b

Hope this helps,

Andrew

Tuesday, January 8, 2013 1:51 PM
  • Thanks Andrew, I've seen the discussion before to post the question but it doesn't help me. The notes are on multiple lines, not extremely complex or long, but on more than a line and MS Project displays only the first line of text adding 3 dots at the end as below:

This is my comment...

This functionality is the same in the reports or if you print and have the notes box ticked.

On the other side in excel, if you press ALT + ENTER you can have text in a cell box on multiple lines, adding links and whatever you want to add.

George

Tuesday, January 8, 2013 3:04 PM