How to filter results by format? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to Power Query and am doing an analysis project which requires a large number of values from many, multi-tabbed workbooks. The data I want is in outline format but there is a LOT of other material surrounding it.  I quickly figured out how to get all the tabs sucked in to my query and easily deleted the extraneous columns.  My problem is finding the rows that are of interest.  The outline number is in a consistent column across all tabs (e.g., 1.1, 1.1.1, 1.1.2 and so forth).  I want only the 3rd-level outline entries (e.g., "2.3.4").  In my unix days, regular-expression processing made this sort of filtering a snap (I want to take all the query results where column D has the format "[1-9]\.[1-9]\.[1-9]"). Ideally, I would like only PART of the outline ([1-8]\.[1-7]\.[1-4]) but this subset is close enough to the total level-3 entries that I can work with grabbing everything. I can't seem to find any way to do this in Power Query (or, to be honest, in much of ANY so-called "modern" tools...(and yes, I'm a bit of a geezer)).  

THe only thing I can think of is to build a very messy compound set of filters (something like "length=5 and substr(2,1)="." and substr(4,1)="." and isnum(substr(1,1)), etc.).  but is there an easier way to do this?

FWIW, my only options for doing this (imposed by my organization) are to do this in Excel or Access in a Windows environment.

I'm very grateful for any guidance or suggestions.

Wednesday, December 5, 2018 6:11 PM

Answers

• Hi David,

Unfortunately, Power Query does not support regex type matching, which is one of the most egregious omissions in the M language.

I've created many custom functions to partially manage this gross oversight - one being a function that matches a fixed-length text pattern that I call Text_MatchesPattern:

(text as text, matchPattern as list) =>
    let
       textList = Text.ToList(text),