none
Duplicate emails received by an end-user

Question

• I am a Consultant and have a client who is receiving duplicate emails.

The client has a Windows Small Business Server 2003 box running the built-in Exchange software, and the employees use Outlook 2003 on their desktop PCs.

One of the employees is receiving duplicates of every email received.

Any ideas on what might be causing this? 

Thanks.

Tuesday, August 08, 2006 7:06 PM

All replies

• Perhaps they've configured an additional email account in Outlook to pull mail through POP/SMTP? I've seen confused people do this. Or perhaps they've configured Exchange to forward a copy of every message to their mailbox, while retaining the original.
    • Proposed as answer by azriq Wednesday, March 16, 2011 1:58 AM
    Tuesday, August 08, 2006 8:51 PM
  • Hi Josh,

I think you have not got the exact problem.

Problem :

In reguler course of acction Outlook first download all new pendign messages & then update the status of mail at server that they are downloaded. But in many cases if link is broken after downloading and prior to updating status at server, the duplicate copy of mail will generated at next downloading process.

So he is asking solution for this...

Sarang Ratnalikar

Saturday, November 11, 2006 7:47 PM
  • I am receiving duplicate emails as well from a great number of senders.. and have not created any rules for these particular senders... and often new sendres' emails go directly to my deleted folder, with no duplicate in my Inbox.  I am wondering if it is because my Inbox is so full -- over 5,000 emails sitting in there.  Any ideas?
    • Proposed as answer by deepak.gnu Thursday, August 13, 2009 10:41 AM
    Wednesday, December 20, 2006 5:42 AM