Powershell - filter users by Database RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am wanting something pretty simple, just a list of users on a particular database. I must be being a donkey as i can't see what i doing wrong. I am the first to admit i am new to powershell, but i was hoping i would be able to get something like this running ok on my own

get-mailbox -filter {Database -eq "DG-MAIL\First Storage Group\Leavers"}

i get an error running this.  Can anyone point me in the right direction? its driving me nuts!

Cheers

Dave

Tuesday, August 5, 2008 11:20 AM

Answers

• Another easy way:

Get-mailbox –resultsize unlimited –database “DG-MAIL\First Storage Group\Leavers”

If you want to use –filter:

Get-mailbox -filter {Database -eq "CN=Mailbox Database,CN=First Storage Group,CN=InformationStore,CN=SGC,CN=Servers,CN=Exchange Administrative Group (FYDIBOHF23SPDLT),CN=Administrative Groups,CN=Organization,CN=Microsoft Exchange,CN=Services,CN=Configuration,DC=SG,DC=com"}

The orange part is that database’s “DistinguishedName”, you can get it from the cmdlet below:

Get-mailboxdatabase “DG-MAIL\First Storage Group\Leavers” | fl

Thursday, August 7, 2008 4:30 AM
  • Hi Dave,

Its better to use pipe to filter the result, instead of using –filter switch.

Use this one…

Get-Mailbox -ResultSize Unlimited | Where{$_.Database -eq "DG-MAIL\First Storage Group\Leavers"}

This is for your advance reference to find other details for indivudial mailboxes like TotalItemSize, ItemCount, LastLogonTime, LastLogoffTime, LastLoggedOnUserAccount

EMC - Where are Mailbox Total Items & Size (KB) Columns?

Tuesday, August 5, 2008 11:53 AM

All replies

• Hi Dave,

Its better to use pipe to filter the result, instead of using –filter switch.

Use this one…

Get-Mailbox -ResultSize Unlimited | Where{$_.Database -eq "DG-MAIL\First Storage Group\Leavers"}