Require SSL for SMTP in Exchange 2010

• Hi,

My company assigned me to set up an internal exchange 2010 Server and apply an SSL certificate for pop/imap/ssl.  I have never worked with exchange before.  Currently I have pop/imap working with ssl, but I cannot seem to get the configuration right for SMTP.  I am using a wildcard cert from, provided by the company.  The error I am getting in outlook states that my email server does not support that type of encryption.  Can anyone point me in the right direction?  

Tuesday, July 05, 2011 5:17 PM

All replies

• Configure your Recieveconnector to enforce TLS.

Set-ReceiveConnector "name of connector" -RequireTLS $True

beware though that this conenctor once configured to require TLS, will not receive mail from Internet.

lasse at humandata dot se,
    Tuesday, July 05, 2011 9:02 PM
  • That actually gave me a light at the end of the tunnel!  thanks!  Is there a similar command for connecting with an SSL encryption? I can now connect with a TLS encryption from outlook, but when I try connecting with SSL it still generates the "your email server does not support that type of encryption"   

I have applied the ssl cert to smtp as well.

Tuesday, July 05, 2011 10:54 PM
  • You  have to configure your clients to use TLS. This is different from each client software.

A question though. Why have Outlook running in SMTP/POP/IMAP mode instead of using MAPI?
    MAPI has a lot more functionality.

lasse at humandata dot se,
    Wednesday, July 06, 2011 10:24 AM
  • Hi,

Read the aritcle below:

wildcard could be used for Imap, pop and SMTP

Don't use the Enable-ExchangeCertificate cmdlet to enable a wildcard certificate for POP and IMAP services. To enable a wildcard certificate, you must use the Set-ImapSettings or Set-PopSettings cmdlets with the fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of the service.