none
New to MIM, looking for assistance on triggering workflows in order RRS feed

• Question

• Hi folks, I'm new to MIM and gradually learning as I go.  I have a solution which pulls data from an HR app (via csv file) and creates AD users based on that.  I'm no developer and also want to keep the solution as simple as possible for the end users of the system.  To that end I've tried as much as possible to only use worfklows and rules from within MIM portal where possible, with everything else padded out with MIMWAL (eg Powershell commands etc).  I have a situation where I have MIMWAL generating a unique username (feeding in to an oubound sync rule to AD, so after the user object has been pulled in to MIM), I also have a workflow set up to run a Powershell command (Add-ADGroupMember) to configure the default AD Group memberships - however, this Powershell command is not executing correctly, as it sees the username (for the "-Members" instance) as being NULL.  The script works perfectly well executing via Powershell logged in as the user account that is being used so the script is fine - but I'm wondering if the issue I'm hitting is because both the unique username generation workflow and the Add default groups workflow are firing at the same time - which is possibly resulting in the AD Group workflow firing before a samAccountName has been passed to AD.  How can I stagger the workflows?  I'm thinking it would be via MPRs and Sets (both the workflow for the group membership and the unique name generation fire on transition in to the All People set), but I can't for the life of me work out how I can pass a user to a set based on completion of a sync rule, or to check whether the user exists in AD and use that as the basis.  I daresay I'm sounding like a complete newbie and missing something completely obvious to those more familar with the app and I can definitely detect some eyerolls :)  but can anyone give me a starter for 10 as to how to get the AD group workflow