none
Does Microsoft Certificate Store (MCS) support SHA 2 (256)?

שאלה

• Hi there, I have a question. I have an older commercial application (IBM DOORS) that we use that we are trying to convert to use smart card authentication. DOORS can be configured to use MCS for authentication. But, the IBM support site indicates that MCS does not support SHA 2 (512). It does not say anything about SHA 2 (256). I've been searching online, but have been unable to find much information on MCS and what encryption it supports.

Does anyone know if MCS supports SHA 2 (256)?

Full disclosure: I am not an IT professional, so please bear with me.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Mike

יום חמישי 12 יולי 2018 10:37

כל התגובות

• I can't speak to IBM DOORS, but when you refer to Microsoft Certificate Store, are you referring to the Certification Authority service offered by Microsoft called Active Directory Certificate Services? It is the service capable of issuing certificates to an environment. In that case, Microsoft ADCS can issuing both SHA1 and SHA2 (256, 384, 512) signed certificates to devices and users.

Mark B. Cooper, President and Founder of PKI Solutions Inc., former Microsoft Senior Engineer and subject matter expert for Microsoft Active Directory Certificate Services (ADCS). Known as “The PKI Guy” at Microsoft for 10 years. He is also co-founder of Revocent (revocent.com) and its CertAccord product that offers Linux certificate enrollment from a Microsoft CA. Connect with Mark at https://www.pkisolutions.com

יום חמישי 12 יולי 2018 16:18
  • I'm honestly not sure. The IBM site says:

"You can configure IBM® Rational® DOORS® so that users can log on by using Microsoft Certificate Store (MCS) authentication."

and then right after it says