none
Viewing IE History of domain users RRS feed

• Question

• As an admin I am routinely asked to review a users browsing history.  As of IE 10 I seem to have lost this capability.

I usually use IEHistoryView.  I have tried multiple locations mentioned in posts.  I have tried manually opening the History folders but they do not open.  No errors.  It's like I am clicking on an empty desktop location.  I have tried this remotely as well as locally.  I have tried as both domain admin and local admin.

Using my own non-admin domain account I can open my own History folder but that is where it ends.

Can somebody please advise me or point me to the correct post on how an admin can view the IE 10 history of a 2008 domain user on Windows 7?

Thank you,

Michael

Thursday, October 3, 2013 2:47 PM

Answers

• Using the shell:history command presents me with the "History.IE5" folder, the "Low" folder and a desktop.ini file.  Looking into the folders I end up with a conainer.dat file which I cannot seem to manually view.

That means the local history "special folder" is not working.  E.g. you would see the same thing by just going to that directory.  So what is really happening?  E.g. is the desktop.ini file being changed to allow the History directory to be opened normally?  Something else inhibiting that?  The way it should work is that the new implementation finds the data in the right WebCache "container" and then shows it to you (e.g. as it used to format its index.dat data for us). 

What we really need is information about what diagnostics are available for the new implementation.  Otherwise we could try guessing by looking at what ProcMon is allowed to see as a user's History is being opened.

Robert Aldwinckle
    ---

Thursday, October 10, 2013 10:40 PM
    Answerer

All replies

• Hi,

Did this issue occur in one specific computer or all domain computers?

For Internet Explorer 10, the history stored in the following directory: