none
Start/Finish vs Schedule Start/Finish vs Actual Start/Finish RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new to MSP 2013 and I'm confused on the way MSP handles Start/Finish dates. While I understand the rational of it adjusting the schedule so you see how actual dates impact the schedule, I find it confusing that there are multiple columns with different labels performing the same function?

"Scheduled Start" would lead you to believe this is your initial planned start date and remains static while "Actual Start" would be, well, the Actual Start date. So one value by definition would be different than the other, yet when any of these dates, "Scheduled Start", "Actual Start", or "Start" are changed, they all change to the same value.

My questions are:

1. Why do the "Scheduled Start", "Actual Start", and "Start" dates all change to the "Actual Date" when entered?
    2. Is there a scheduling technique or purpose for this to work this way?
    3. Also, since the "Scheduled Start" date changes, how does MSP 2013 handle Earned Value?

Since Earned Value calculations rely on your Planned Value which would be based on the Budgeted Cost of Work Scheduled          and the Earned Value which is the Budgeted Cost of Work Performed vs. the Actual Cost of the Work Performed at "a point          in time," how could it provide a reliable figure if the scheduled date is moving? Is it using the "Baseline Start/Finish"?

I hope you can answer this for me or direct me to a resource that can. Thank you for your consideration.

Marc      

Friday, February 20, 2015 6:02 PM

Answers

• Marc,