Disabling computer account in Active Directory will still allows the workstation to login RRS feed

• Question

• I have a special scenario. A Widows 7 workstation was in lock mode (waiting for CTRL+ALT+DEL). As an administrator, I disabled the computer account, user account and even reset the password for that user and the workstation. My requirement is that the user can not login to the workstation again.

However, the user able to login to the workstation.

What AD registry parameter could lock down the computer completely? or is there any parameter in GPO that could lock down the computer?

Thanks in advance.

Pingala

SP

• Edited by Apastambha Saturday, April 25, 2015 5:15 PM
    Saturday, April 25, 2015 5:14 PM

Answers

• All, I found the way to solve the problem. AD GPO is the place to control the workstation. I reduced number of logon to zero. Here is the procedure at AD:

Logon to Domain Controller with Admin privileges. From the Server Manager Dashboard

Tools à Group Policy Management à (under domains, select the domain where the computers are to be controlled) à Group Policy Objects à Default Domain Policy à Settings (in right pane) à Policies à Windows Settings à Security Settings à Local Policies à Security Options à Interactive logon: Number of previous logons to cache set to zero 

And, lastly from the command line, do gpupdate /force

This will lockdown the computers when disabled at AD.

Thanks everyone.

SP

• Marked as answer by Karen Hu Monday, May 11, 2015 9:43 AM
    • Unmarked as answer by Apastambha Monday, May 11, 2015 10:12 AM
    • Marked as answer by Apastambha Monday, May 11, 2015 10:12 AM
    Friday, May 8, 2015 10:12 AM

All replies

• Dear,

how many domain controllers  do u have? computer account is in any branch location?

thanks

syea

Saturday, April 25, 2015 6:38 PM
  • Just one Domain Controller. Computer account is in only in this domain. Actually, I simulated the issue with one DC and one workstation. 

SP