none
System Center 2016 test lab setup RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to SCCM and in the process in setting up a test box for System Center Configuration Manager 2016 on a Windows Server 2016. My understanding is that I need to do the following:

Install SQL Server
    Install Widows ADK
    Create System Center Schema
    Install IIS Role
    Install WSUS
    Install SCCM 2016

For the following, do I need to:

Install SQL Server - From my research, SQL server is installed on the same server as SCCM. We have a dedicated SQL servers for our Test and Prod env. From the install example searches I've found, I can specify external SQL database. Can I have SCCM installer create and configure the database instance?

Install Windows ADK - We're basically using SCCM for deploying application packages, non Windows OS. Also, for deploying Windows Security Update packages to Windows Servers OS only (No Windows OS desktops). Do I still need to install Windows ADK? Or, is ADK required for installing SCCM and deploying not only OS but application packages as well?

Create System Center Schema - I'm assuming I need to create one for the test lab.

Install WSUS - We're currently running a dedicated WSUS Server 2012. Can I configure SCCM 2016 and use our WSUS server for deploying updates? Or, will it be easier to install both SCCM and WSUS on the same server?

Install SCCM 2016 - Is this the latest supported version I can install on a Windows Server 2016?

Thanks in Advance

Friday, July 12, 2019 9:50 PM

All replies

• Hello,