none
messy scavenging issue in DNS RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I walked into a new job a couple months ago and inherited a bit of a mess.  The company moved here last year from another state.  As a result of the transition and employee turnover of people who didn't make the move (none of the IT department did) I have some cleanup to do without a lot of prior historical knowledge.

One of the things I'm looking at is the forward and reverse lookup zones.  Neither is functioning properly.  Scavenging seems to be set correctly, but it is not working (these are NOT static entries).  I have a number of entries in both the forward and reverse lookup zones that are months and even years old.  Rather than manually delete them, I'd like to get scavenging working.  I know the basic theory, but I'm not an expert.

One kink in this is that DHCP used to be handled by a Windows server (I think), but it is now handled by our Meraki switches.  Would that have an impact?  Can I still make scavenging work?  Scavenging is turned on and aging is set to 7 days all around.  Dynamic updates is "Secure only" for most zones, though there is one Forward zone that is set to "Nonsecure and secure".  It doesn't seem to make a difference as both have years-old entries.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Zack

Tuesday, May 28, 2019 3:17 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hello Zack,

Thank you for posting in this forum.

Here's a good article about aging/scavenging.

How DNS Aging and Scavenging Works

I would suggest that you refer to the article to reconfigure your aging/scavenging function to see if it helps.

Best Regards,

Leon

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 6:06 AM
  • Hi,

Just checking in to see if the information provided was helpful.