none
Windows security dialog box for secure sites is empty - no user name and password fields are visible RRS feed

• Question

• I am a helpdesk tech for a large company and we having an issue with IE 8+ on win7 32bit. 

Anytime a user goes to a secure site that requires authentication, the windows security dialog box pops up waiting for credentials, but it is impossible to enter them because the user name and password fields are not showing in the box.

Resetting IE has no effect.  Changing security levels  for different zones also has no effect.  We have added multiple sites to our trusted lists and still no results.  These site all perform normally in Firefox and Chrome but those browsers are not an option for our users. 

This problem is also present in IE 9 beta.
    I have even tried to completely remove IE and reinstall it but still get no results.

I have seen 2 other threads about this issue, neither of them have resolutions.  One on technet has some detailed info on the exact same issue, but has no answer and was started last year.

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en/itprovistaie/thread/4d1714cd-8e8b-483d-a3de-383c3ef9e86b

The other is on this forum, also with no answer.

http://social.answers.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/InternetExplorer/thread/45d4db20-61d5-49a7-88ee-14d35309138b

here is a screen shot of the problem in action. 

Please keep in mind that this is just one example and that the problem occurs when visiting ANY site with authentication.

We have tried to reset the security zones to defaults but that does no good.

I will be happy to provide any further info that is needed.

Thanks for your help!

Friday, January 21, 2011 3:09 PM

All replies

• here is a screen shot of the problem in action.