none
Microsoft Visio 2010 - Disable Auto Size feature globally

Question

• Hello,

I am a patent attorney that frequently uses Visio to create drawings.  I recently upgraded from Visio 2007 to Visio 2010 and have encountered an annoyance that I would like to fix.  Whenever I open up a Visio drawing (which was created using Visio 2007), the auto size feature is automatically turned on for each page by default.

I know that I can turn it off on a page level by going to the design tab and and selecting the feature for each page individually or I can go to page setup and turn it off for each page individually.  I would like to have it turned off at a global level so that by default it is turned off, rather than turned on.

In my field, we are required to work within certain page parameters, so that auto size feature, while it may be useful in some fields, is a complete hinderance in mine.

Thank you in advance for any assistance you might be able to provide.

Tuesday, November 23, 2010 2:09 PM

Answers

• There is no way to turn off the feature permenantly, the suggested workaround is to use a template and turn the feature off in the template. Any time you use the template, Autosize should be off.
    John... the original Visio MVP (since 1993) Visio.MVPs.org
    • Marked as answer by Sally Tang Wednesday, November 24, 2010 2:17 AM
    Tuesday, November 23, 2010 8:39 PM

All replies

• There is no way to turn off the feature permenantly, the suggested workaround is to use a template and turn the feature off in the template. Any time you use the template, Autosize should be off.
    • Marked as answer by Sally Tang Wednesday, November 24, 2010 2:17 AM
    Tuesday, November 23, 2010 8:39 PM
  • How does creating a template help with opening already existing Visio diagrams, created in versions prior to 2010?

I have many large diagrams that I am now updating with Visio 2010, and I have to turn Auto Size off for every page in order to maintain the required page dimensions.