none
Windows Security dialog asking if I want to install driver RRS feed

• Question

• I'm installing CUDA and various related software to write deep learning software. During installation, a dialog with the title "Window Security" comes up, asking if I'd like to install the device software. (I've been writing software since '78 or so, so I'm not a total newb) The dialog goes on to say Name NVIDIA... and Publisher NVIDIA Corp... with a checkbox to "always trust..." and 2 buttons for install or don't install. Then a line, and below it, it says "You should only install driver software from publishers you trust" and more, which is also a link saying "How can I decide which device software is safe to install" So I clicked it.

The "Help and support" dialog came up saying (among other obvious stuff) "Windows will alert you with one of the following messages ... blah blah" and lists the 3 messages it is supposedly supposed warn me with one of...For your viewing pleasure, the three exact options I am supposed to be show one of, are:

Windows can't verify the publisher of this driver software
    This driver hasn't been signed
    Windows requires a digitally signed driver

I described above the entirety of the Windows Security dialog sufficiently to (hopefully) make it clear that none of the three Alerts that Windows Help and Support indicates I'm to be shown one of, are all absent from the dialog.

I know the deal, done similar things a zillion times, but the dialog is basically asking me if I should install the driver, but does not indicate *why* it's asking me. (as in, by giving me one of the 3 alert options.

I know NVIDIA, I know Windows (well, from 3.0 up..) and I know it's a safe nvidia driver... but what's the point of the dialog for someone who doesn't already know the answer to? Why isn't my windows telling me why it's alerting me about *this* particular driver?