none
DPM 2019 | EXCHANGE SERVER 2016 | LOG TRUNCATION RRS feed

• Question

• Hi DPM Team,

I installed DPM 2019 because it is Microsoft Product and it will be best to backup Microsoft products. I was shocked to see it doesn't truncate logs after Exchange 2016 Database Backups. Here it is increasing 'Administrative efforts".

1.) There must be some strong reason behind "not flushing logs", please share it with me so that as an Admin I can justify my product selection.

2.) For some reason, Log Truncation is not happening, please suggest best script or some way to truncate logs safely. I've seen one article with three methods, a) dismount and mount, b) initiate vss backup and end, c) manually delete the logs.

3. Like most other backup software, is there a way to select type of backup, "full, incremental, differential" etc

Please suggest best way to truncate logs.

Thanks

Fahad

Wednesday, June 24, 2020 4:49 AM

All replies

• Hi Fahad,

To be able to truncate the exchange Logs after successful backup we need to make sure protection group has the following settings.

First configure one full backup per day, and a synchronization frequency to suit your requirements for Exchange log truncations. When protecting more than one copy of an Exchange mailbox database (for example, when protecting members of a DAG), configure one node for full backups and the rest for copy backups. Copy backups do not truncate log files.

DPM does not support differential backups, it supports Incremental backup and Full backups only. Sync Frequency represents the incremental backup and Full/Expressfull backup represents the Full backup along with "SYNC Just before recovery point."

If all these settings are in place, you dont need to truncate logs manually. Please share your protection group settings and schedule you are using? 

Wednesday, June 24, 2020 5:31 AM
  • Hi Fahad,