none
SharePoint Online Powershell command to remove all users

Question

• I am using SharePoint online.  I have a need to remove all users from all security groups in a site collection (including sub-sites) that contain the word "Team".  I have found lots of bits and pieces but I'm not very experienced in power shell commands and I can't get them pieced together to work. 

Any help would be appreciated.  

S Boyd

Wednesday, March 15, 2017 6:44 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Do you want to remove users from groups which contain the word “Team” in a specific site collections?

If yes, you can remove these groups from the site collection using the following script:

Connect-SPOService –Url <SharePoint Admin Center URL> –Credential <administrator email>

$spGroups = Get-SPOSiteGroup -Site <site collection URL>

ForEach($spGroup in $spGroups) {

if($spGroup.Title -like "*Team*")

{

Remove-SPOSiteGroup -Site <site collection URL>-Identity $spGroup.Title

}

}

Additional information:

If you remove a group from a site collection, all users in this group will be removed and this group will be removed from all subsites under this site collection.

Thanks,

Dean Wang

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com

Thursday, March 16, 2017 9:19 AM
  • This one may come in handy but what I actually want to do is remove all the users within the groups that have the "Team" text as part of the name (within the single site collection but to include all the sub-sites).   Do you have a variation that will do that?

S Boyd

Thursday, March 16, 2017 12:41 PM
  • You can do it this way:

$site=https://MyCompany.Sharepoint.com/sites/site1

$groups=Get-SPOSiteGroup -Site $site
    $users=get-spouser -Site $site

foreach($user in $users) {if($user.LoginName -match "Team"){ foreach ($group in $groups){Remove-SPOUser -Site $site -LoginName $user.loginName -Group $group.LoginName}}}