none
Updating "Person or Group" field of file getting uploaded via Powershell

Question

• Greetings,

I am a complete programming/powershell noob.

I grabbed parts from various scripts to create a powershell script that does the following after I provide the first and last name of a new employee:

1. creates a folder in format "lastname, firstname" within a subfolder of a document library and stops inheriting permissions.

2. Creates a folder called "2017" within.

3.uploads 3 files to the "2017" folder.

4. in the upload loop for each of the three files, it sets a metadata column called "Status" to "Not started"  

Here is what I am missing. 

1. I have an "employee" and "manager" column which both are of type "Person or Group".  Somehow it fails to update these two fields. Here is the code snippet:

Foreach ($File in (dir $UploadSourceFolder -File))
    {
        $FileCreationInfo = New-Object Microsoft.SharePoint.Client.FileCreationInformation
        $FileCreationInfo.Overwrite = $true
        $FileCreationInfo.Content = [System.IO.File]::ReadAllBytes($File.FullName)
        $FileCreationInfo.URL = $List.RootFolder.ServerRelativeUrl + "/" + $UploadTargetFolder + "/" + $File.Name
        $UploadFile = $List.RootFolder.Files.Add($FileCreationInfo)
        $UploadFile.ListItemAllFields["Status"] = "Started";
        $user = UserLookUp;
        $UploadFile.ListItemAllFields["Manager"] = $user;
        $UploadFile.ListItemAllFields.Update();
        $Context.Load($UploadFile)
        $Context.ExecuteQuery()

}

Here is the UserLookUp Function:

Function UserLookUp()
    {
    $Ctx = Get-Context -Url $Url -Username $Username -Password $Password
    $Web = $Ctx.Web
    $Ctx.Load($Web)
    $Ctx.ExecuteQuery()
    Write-Host $Web.Title

$User = $Web.EnsureUser("john@contoso.com)
    $Ctx.Load($User)
    $Ctx.ExecuteQuery()

$userValue = new FieldUserValie
    Write-Host $User.Email
    }