none
"You Don't Currently Have Permission to Access This Folder" RRS feed

• Question

• I am migrating a shared folder from 2008R2 to 2016 server. I am logged in to both servers as domain admin. The share I created on a 2016 server has the identical NTFS and Share permissions to the share on 2008. 

When I try to access a folder locally on a 2016 box (D:\Share\Public) logged in as a domain admin I get "You Don't Currently Have Permission to Access This Folder" but if I click continue, my admin account is added to the NTFS perms tab and I am able to get in. I don't get this prompt on a 2008 server. 

Also, if i open a command prompt logged in as domain admin to a 2016 server and try to cd to D:\Share\Public i get access denied, but if i try the same operation but open command prompt as administrator I am able to get inside the folder. 

So i guess the question is what changed in 2016 that that the OS requires you to access folders from the elevated prompt while logged in as an admin ?

Thanks 

• Edited by net_tech Friday, September 27, 2019 11:21 AM
    Friday, September 20, 2019 2:59 PM

All replies

• Hi,

You can set your group policy as follows:  

Under Computer Configuration --> Windows Settings --> Security Settings --> Local Policies --> Security Options,

• User Account Control: Admin Approval Mode for the Built-in Administrator account - Disabled
    • User Account Control: Behaviour of the elevation prompt for administrators in Admin Approval Mode -  Elevate without prompting
    • User Account Control: Run all administrators in Admin Approval Mode - Disabled

Then check the issue again.

Best regards.

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Monday, September 23, 2019 10:04 AM
  • Thanks Vivi Ma

Have all 3 GPO settings been introduced in Windows 2016 or they have been around since 2012 with different default settings?