none
Exchange Server 2013 - Disaster recovery Setup RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Team, 

I am new to Exchange Server 2013 and Would like to know the detailed Procedure to setup High Availability or DR site for Exchange 2013. This would be our site -B

Current setup in Main Site- A 

1. Single Forest , Single Domain in Windows 2012

2. 2x CAS servers and 2 X Mailbox Servers 

Appreciate Your support to setup the High Availability replication from the start.

Regards

Ahmed123 

iahmed123

Friday, May 3, 2019 4:17 PM

All replies

• Here are the highlights for HA.

Determine a third site in which to locate the file share witness server or identify an existing server in a third site.  This site must have independent network connectivity to each of the two Exchange sites.

Build exactly two mailbox servers in Site-B.  Microsoft's Preferred Architecture calls for you to install both the CAS and Mailbox roles on these servers unless you have some compelling reason for separating the CAS role (such as using NLB, which I wouldn't recommend you use, by the way).

Deploy some flavor of geographic load balancing so that if one site fails, traffic is routed to the other site.

For DR, all you need is a minimum of one server in the other site that has a copy of all databases.

Ed Crowley MVP "There are seldom good technological solutions to behavioral problems."
    Celebrating 20 years of providing Exchange peer support!

Friday, May 3, 2019 6:15 PM
  • Dear Ed/Team,

Thanks for the reply.

Can I use Witness server which is in main Site while Configure in DR setup?

I am planning to build 1x CAS Server and 1 X mail box Servers at Site-B ( Dr-Site) and load balance the traffic with F5.

Is there a Link/ video where it detailed to install, configure the CAS and Mailbox server and replicate the database

Appreciate your support.

iahmed123

Saturday, May 4, 2019 2:28 PM
  • >>> Can I use Witness server which is in main Site while Configure in DR setup?

Yes.