none
Sharepoint Solution Deployment Error - problem when installing application templates

Question

•   Hi there, I am new to MOSS 2007. I am trying to install application templates. The server .wsp files I have found difficulties with. From the command line I am able to add the solution but when I attemp to deploy the solution - I receive this error:

A deployment or retraction is already underway for the solution "applicationtemplatecore.wps", and only one deployment or retraction at a time is supported. 

Back in Sharepoint Central Admin in the operations area this the status of the template is listed as "error", I am unable to remove this template now(have tried to retract and unlock the deployment from the command line). Any suggestions would be appreciated. 
    • Edited by Mike Walsh FIN Tuesday, September 02, 2008 3:56 AM Subject enhanced with a reference to Application templates
    Monday, September 01, 2008 10:23 PM

Answers

• Hi, 

If a SharePoint solution deployment fails, yet the timer job is created and not running, you will be unable to redeploy or retract the solution.

Here are the steps to redeploy the failed solutions:

1.    Delete the solutions listed as "Failed" in Central Administration > Operations > Timer Job Definitions.

2.    The solutions will appear as not deployed instead of "Error" in Central Administration > Operations > Solution Management. You can redeploy them from here properly

As you did not tell us which template you were installing, one thing I should tell you only Server Admin Templates need the Application Template Core solution (ApplicationTemplateCore.wsp).

For more information, please refer to: Application Templates for Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 (http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/windowsserver/sharepoint/bb407286.aspx)

Let me know if you need further help.

-lambert

Posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
    Wednesday, September 03, 2008 9:41 AM

All replies