none
Outlook 2007 - emails still showing after being deleted

    Question

  • I am using Outlook 2007.  When I delete an email, it is still shown in the inbox but with the line through it.  I have looked on line and seen instructions that say select Edit > Purge, but my Outlook does not have purge only delete.  I have tried to move to a folder thinking I could delete the folder, but receive an error saying the item is deleted.
    Friday, August 26, 2011 5:01 AM

Answers

  • Hi,

    Normally, when you delete a message in an IMAP account, it gets a line through it, until you completely eradicate the message by purging the Inbox. (Many consider this an irritating "feature".) The message does not go to the "Deleted Items" folder, the "Trash" or anywhere else. However, after purging, a message that was marked for deletion will be completely erased.

    To permanently delete the items marked for deletion, do the following:

    Click a folder in your IMAP e-mail account (e-mail account: The server name, user name, password, and e-mail address used by Outlook to connect to an e-mail service. You create the e-mail account in Outlook by using information provided by your administrator or Internet service provider (ISP).). On the Edit menu, point to Purge Deleted Messages. Do one of the following:

    Click Purge Marked Items in "folder".

    Only items marked for deletion in the folder that you are in are purged from the IMAP mail server.

    Click Purge Marked Items in "e-mail account".

    All items marked for deletion in any folder for this IMAP e-mail account are purged from the IMAP mail server.

    Click Purge Marked Items in All Accounts.

    All items marked for deletion in any folder for any IMAP e-mail account are purged from the IMAP mail server.


    Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread.
    Monday, August 29, 2011 4:18 AM
    Moderator

All replies

  • Hi,

    Reconfigure your outlook profile and check by deleting a mail.

    Thank you

    Friday, August 26, 2011 8:46 AM
  • Hi,

    Normally, when you delete a message in an IMAP account, it gets a line through it, until you completely eradicate the message by purging the Inbox. (Many consider this an irritating "feature".) The message does not go to the "Deleted Items" folder, the "Trash" or anywhere else. However, after purging, a message that was marked for deletion will be completely erased.

    To permanently delete the items marked for deletion, do the following:

    Click a folder in your IMAP e-mail account (e-mail account: The server name, user name, password, and e-mail address used by Outlook to connect to an e-mail service. You create the e-mail account in Outlook by using information provided by your administrator or Internet service provider (ISP).). On the Edit menu, point to Purge Deleted Messages. Do one of the following:

    Click Purge Marked Items in "folder".

    Only items marked for deletion in the folder that you are in are purged from the IMAP mail server.

    Click Purge Marked Items in "e-mail account".

    All items marked for deletion in any folder for this IMAP e-mail account are purged from the IMAP mail server.

    Click Purge Marked Items in All Accounts.

    All items marked for deletion in any folder for any IMAP e-mail account are purged from the IMAP mail server.


    Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread.
    Monday, August 29, 2011 4:18 AM
    Moderator
  • In outlook 2007, how do you "Reconfigure your outlook profile"   ??????
    Monday, September 21, 2015 10:24 PM
  • I know this in an old post, but when I delete an item, there is no indication that I have marked it for deletion...no strikethrough.  Even when I have selected the view to either "hide items marked for deletion" or "group items marked for deletion" they are still visible or in the  unmarked group.  However, when I purge they disappear...but don't go in the deleted items folder but are permanently deleted.

    Is there a way to get the strikethrough so I know what items are marked.  Since the items completely disappear, I can't go back if I make a mistake and thus would like to see what is going to be purged.  Also, I've noticed that if I don't purge right away, the items I deleted disappear in a short time anyway.  I have no control over when they will be permanently deleted.  I'm using Outlook 2003, which I know is old, but it works fine.  Until recently my Outlook was configured with Outlook Connector, but with the switch to the new servers, I had to configure as an imap account to continue to get me hotmail in Outlook.

    Thank you for any guidance on this issue.

    Wednesday, September 21, 2016 1:57 PM