none
PowerPoint 2010 cannot play wmv video created on same pc

Question

• I've been making videos on pc's since 1994 and use wmv most of the time.  I made several wmv videos on my current pc and they play great in windows media player.  But when I try to embed them into my powerpoint 2010 presentation (insert video) I get the following error message:

"PowerPoint cannot insert a video from the selected file.  Verify that the necessary codec for this media is installed and then try again."

Codec must be installed if they play great in windows media player on the same pc.

Tried saving the pptx as pptm and still does not work.  Tried several different wmv videos using different codecs and none of them seem to work.

If I had to guess I'd say this is a bug with 2010.

Does anyone know what codecs work (exactly what ones tried a bunch of 9 and 9.1 codecs already for screen and full motion, music and voice) or how to reregister powerpoint so it works?  Any updates that might fix this?

RandyH

Wednesday, October 20, 2010 1:26 PM

Answers

All replies

• Here is a support article that may help. It also gives recommendations on how to encode the video until Microsoft fixes the issue.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/982954/en-gb

-- David Hankins
    • Proposed as answer by David Hankins Wednesday, October 27, 2010 6:13 PM
    • Marked as answer by Sally Tang Thursday, October 28, 2010 7:20 AM
    Wednesday, October 20, 2010 1:42 PM
  • I spent 1:15 waiting and then 35min on the phone with a member of the Microsoft Power Point team.

1. All videos must be in the .wmv format.  Not asf or mpg or flv. Converter programs can be found on download.com.

2. All powerpoint files must be saved in the 2010 format. Go to the file tab and then convert.  It will not erase the old version, but create a new 2010 version of the power point file.