none
Question about Recycling Bins in SharePoint 2013 RRS feed

• Question

• I'm fairly new to SharePoint 2013, I just need some clarification on a certain topic. So when a user deletes an item it goes to the recycling bin, and in this recycling bin it only shows what that user deleted correct? Now how does the quota that automatically empties the recycling bin go by amount of data that is stored in the bin, or does it go by how old it is? So if the recycling bin is emptied via user or hits the quota it goes to a second recycling bin that only the administrator can view correct? This second recycling bin does not have a quota, so how much will it keep, should there be a quota on this secondary bin? If there is a quota and it deletes from the second bin how do I go about retrieving a single document? Every night I back up using what is in the picture, but I was reading that you cant restore  a single document without having to roll back the entire site to the day that contains the file. I'm not sure if this is correct, ANY clarification is greatly appreciated!

Reif, Christopher

Monday, January 11, 2016 7:37 PM

Answers

• Hi Reif ,

Answer for your questions.

Now how does the quota that automatically empties the recycling bin go by amount of data that is stored in the bin, or does it go by how old it is?

ANS : Items remain in the second-stage Recycle Bin until a specified time period has been reached (the default setting is 30 days) or until the second-stage Recycle Bin reaches its size limit, at which time the oldest items are deleted. The time limit for the Recycle Bins applies to the total time after the item was initially deleted — not the time spent in either Recycle Bin stage.

So if the recycling bin is emptied via user or hits the quota it goes to a second recycling bin that only the administrator can view correct? YES 

This second recycling bin does not have a quota, so how much will it keep, should there be a quota on this secondary bin?