none
Setting permissions for subsites RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to SPS2010 so this may be an easy question for someone else, but I haven't been able to find a clear answer yet.  I have a site created for our new intranet with separate team subsites for each business group (IT, HR, BoD, Sales, etc.).  What I am trying to figure out is how can I make certain subsites (or team sites) viewable to only certain groups?  Currently any user who is authenticated as AD user can view the home page, and all other pages even though their group does not have any permissions on the team site (yes, I made sure to disable inherit permissions),  For example...

Bob is a regular user and has logged into his PC.  Bob is part of the Sales group in AD along with being a general user for the company.  He can view the home page of the intranet, http://intranet , he can view the HR page, http://intranet/hr  (he has rights to do this too), but he can also view the Board of Directors page ,http://intranet/BoD and the IT page, http://intranet/IT  (he should not see these two pages)

If the inherit permissions for the subsites have been turned off, how do I correct what Bob has access to?  Should I just go back and delete all of the subsites and rebuild them making sure they never inherit the permissions from the home page from the very beginning? Just a bit confused on where I should start to try to fix this.

Saturday, February 5, 2011 4:15 PM

Answers

• The only way Bob can see those sites is if he has permissions to do so.  There has to be something giving him rights.  It's all very straightforward and works exactly how you set it up, but most of the time, people get confused about where they are setting permissions.  The only way Bob can see a site is if he has permissions via some explicit or implicit means.