none
SharePoint Extranet/Remote Access to our SharePoint RRS feed

• Question

• Ok, so as stated in my previous threads... I am very new to SharePoint, but am a quick learner and the site creations and editting is coming pretty easy.  I have a few more days left to prove I can effectively build the SharePoint site for where I am working.  Don't think that will be a problem, though I am also encouraged to learn server side stuff and all the technical stuff.

When I first got here on Friday, it was said that logging in to SharePoint remotely was possible but cumbersome I guess.  What is the best way to setup remote access for employees?  And what settings and what not should I look up that may already be setup?

Thanks ahead of time :)

Wednesday, January 4, 2012 2:07 PM

Answers

• Well I know how to make Sharepoint groups and all that.  And it seems to me that using the Active Directory groups would waste more time in having to go to AD to add users and all that.  I think I am going to leave the groups set up in AD, but remove all the people from them so I can custom build groups for each department and the main site...  sound good ? :)
    • Marked as answer by Seven M Friday, January 13, 2012 7:16 AM
    Wednesday, January 4, 2012 5:26 PM

All replies

• Remote access for SharePoint is in the end fairly simple. All you have to do, if you want to publish SharePoint for your users externally is to correctly configure alternate access mappings, and publish SharePoint with some firewall, ideally Threat Management Gateway 2010/Unified Access Gateway 2010. Those two hase builtin publishing rules, which will make this deployment very easy.

http://donalconlon.wordpress.com/2009/12/06/home-networking-configuring-forefront-tmg-for-web-and-sharepoint-publishing/

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc263208(office.12).aspx

Marek Chmel, WBI Systems (MCTS, MCITP, MCT, CCNA)
    Wednesday, January 4, 2012 2:28 PM