none
Creating a date limited report using Report Builder 3.0 with a Sharepoint List as datasource RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I'm hoping someone can help with this - I'm probably just doing something very silly (I'm new to SharePoint/Reporting/Infopath/XML etc. Be gentle with me).

So... the background is:

I've set up a sharepoint site which has an Infopath form on it, which users enter data into and it all gets saved in a sharepoint list.

What I'm trying to do is create a report that displays the data from that sharepoint list in a useful manner. A key part of making this useful is that I need to be able to filter the data by using date parameters. The report needs to give users the ability to select a parameter (branch), then use a date picker to select a to and from date, so that when they hot run, the report brings back the results from that region/branch that were created between the dates selected. For the purposes of this report though, I'm only using the 'Branch' parameter to begin with.

What I've done so far:

• I've created a report in Report Builder 3.0 that has the sharepoint list as its data source. I don't want the information from every column in the list, so I've set up a dataset that has all of the fields that are of interest to me.
    • I've also set up another dataset for for 'Branch' and added it as a parameter (I was informed that this needed to be in a separate dataset, so that it could populate the dropdown on the report before the actual report on the main dataset was actually run). When I run the report at this point it works fine - I select a branch from the list, and I can see the sharepoint list entries generated by users from that branch.