none
remote file access with sharepoint RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

I'm very new to sharepoint and I would like to understand a few things about remote file access and document libraries.

1. Is there a way to access a document library that was created through sharepoint on a local network by mapping it as a network drive?

2. Is there a way to access an NTFS share (like a public network share from a file server) through sharepoint?

Thanks,

Tamir Doron
    Melbourne Australia
    • Edited by Mike Walsh FIN Wednesday, September 2, 2009 7:35 AM Title reduced to problem description only
    Wednesday, September 2, 2009 7:15 AM

Answers

• Based on my research, we can map a document library as a network drive via steps below:

1. Go to the library you wish to link and choose Actions -> Open in Windows Explorer you will see something like a network share path (ie. \\sharepoint\sites\teamsite\documents).

2. Copy this to the clipboard and then open My Computer. Choose Tools -> Map Network Drive. Select the drive letter you wish to use and then paste the path copied earlier. Choose the other options depending on your personal preferences or need. Click OK and you will now have a mapped drive to a document library.

Regarding the second question, we cannot access a public network share from a file server in Sharepoint directly.

Wednesday, September 2, 2009 10:08 AM
  • When mapping to a SharePoint driver Windows will try to connect using one of two methods.  It's a little deep but this white paper explains what is going on beneath the hood:

http://www.microsoft.com/Downloads/details.aspx?familyid=C523AC7A-5724-48BE-B973-641E805588F4&displaylang=en

As far as access a share drive.  The simple answer is No.  You could setup MOSS to index a shared drive so when you search for something in SharePoint it could give you a link to the network share, but that doesn't help remote users unless they use a VPN or similar technology to connect to your internal network.