none
Task dates jump when assigning a resource

Question

• Hi All,

We have a new implementation of PWA - and I am a full admin. When I (Ilai) assign tasks to Resources that are already booked, it presents me with a little red man that i can right click and see the over allocation/conflict.

My colleague, Paul, who has 'normal' PM rights, has a different experience. When assigning a task, the dates jump further in the future. See screenshots below, but an example is as below:

State 1

Task A

Duration/Work: 1 day 

Start: 13/05/19

Finish: 13/05/2019

When assigning an enterprise resource to that task, a resource that has already been assigned a task on that day, Project Desktop automatically assigns the task to the future as below

State 2

Task A

Duration/Work: 1 day 

Start: 16/05/19

Finish: 17/05/2019

Issue

This seemingly automatic reallocation does not give any prompts, or the little red man on the task, or anything. I believe it may be permissions related, but i can see which permission needs to be amended for Paul or his User Group in PWA.

Permissions on that group:

Ilai S :)

Thursday, May 2, 2019 1:49 PM

All replies

• Hi Ilai,

There are 2 things. 

Seeing or not the red man. When you open MS Project Desktop, you have a dialog box to select the tenant (prod, dev, test, training...) where you can also select to load or not the resource assignments over all projects. If the PM has not checked this checkbox, he will only see overallocations on his project, not over all the projects.

Then for the task being automatically moved to avoid overallocation, it might be due to the leveling set to AUTOMATIC instead of MANUAL in the leveling options (tab RESOURCES).

Hope this helps,

Guillaume Rouyre, MBA, MVP, P-Seller

Thursday, May 2, 2019 2:47 PM
  • Ilai S --