none
Create Custom Folder for all Mailboxes RRS feed

• Question

• I need help with Exchange Online.  I want to create a custom folder that resides in all users' mailboxes so that I can set a "never delete" retention policy on it.  Typically, mail older than 90 days are deleted unless the users tag them.  I want to make it easier for them by creating a folder that retains email indefinitely.  

I'm not very good at scripting.  I tried running this:

$userList = Get-Mailbox -resultsize unlimited

foreach($user in $userList){

New-MailboxFolder -Name "Retention Folder" 
    }

It will ask me to define the parent, but it works.  I want the script to work on all mailboxes in bulk, and for the parent folder to already be defined so it doesn't prompt me.   I want the folder to also sit at the highest level as the Inbox does so it's visible.  

Any advice is appreciated.  Thank you.

Tuesday, June 30, 2020 4:38 AM

Answers

• Hello,

Following script can be modified for your purpose

Note that, you need to get the alias list of all mailboxes first as csv file (in this example, users.csv) first and give as the input of the cmdlet

get-mailbox -ResultSize Unlimited | select -expand alias >c:\tmp\users.csv
    $Users = Get-Content "C:\tmp\users.csv" foreach ($User in ($Users))
    {
        New-MailboxFolder -Parent $user -Name "Retention Folder"
    }

Regards From: Exchange Online | World of Cloud Computing

• Edited by ManU PhiliP Tuesday, June 30, 2020 5:20 AM
    • Marked as answer by Pino Gravy Tuesday, June 30, 2020 5:57 PM
    Tuesday, June 30, 2020 5:20 AM

All replies

• Hello,

Following script can be modified for your purpose

Note that, you need to get the alias list of all mailboxes first as csv file (in this example, users.csv) first and give as the input of the cmdlet

get-mailbox -ResultSize Unlimited | select -expand alias >c:\tmp\users.csv
    $Users = Get-Content "C:\tmp\users.csv" foreach ($User in ($Users))
    {
    }