none
Accessing a mobile device via Hyper-V RRS feed

• Question

• Greetings,

I am new to Hyper-V and have setup a Windows 10 guest VM on it, however I am in need of accessing an Android device that is connected physically to the PC.  My hope is to be able to see the device on the guest VM and access it via ADB (Android Debug Bridge).

I have done this previously on VMWare Player but being new to Hyper-V it does not seem as trivial.

Can anyone guide me on what I need to do to successfully communicate with my mobile device?

Appreciate any help.

Regards

Thursday, October 10, 2019 4:04 PM

All replies

• You might try here assuming the devices have support for this method.

Regards, Dave Patrick ....
    Microsoft Certified Professional
    Microsoft MVP [Windows Server] Datacenter Management

Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties or guarantees, and confers no rights.

Thursday, October 10, 2019 4:18 PM
  • Hi,

Thanks for your question.

Please check the following article and try the steps,

Use local resources on Hyper-V virtual machine with VMConnect

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-server/virtualization/hyper-v/learn-more/use-local-resources-on-hyper-v-virtual-machine-with-vmconnect

Virtual Machine Connection (VMConnect) lets you use a computer's local resources in a virtual machine, like a removable USB flash drive or a printer. Enhanced session mode also lets you resize the VMConnect window. This article shows you how configure the host and then give the virtual machine access to a local resource.

1) Turn on enhanced session mode on a Hyper-V host

2) Choose a local resource in the popup box of session mode, (if your device is not include, please try to select all the local resources in the tab)

In addition, Dave's also right, we could also use RDP to connect the VM along with local resources. 

Hope above information can help you.