none
SQLCMD not able to connect to SQL Server RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am new to MSSQL, i wanted to execute my stored procedures to my remote DB server, so I have planned to use sqlcmd utility because i dont have ssms installed in my machine. So I have downloaded the utility and installed in my machine. I am able to connect to remote DB server using

<style type="text/css"><!--td {border: 1px solid #ccc;}br {mso-data-placement:same-cell;}--></style>"}" style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial;">sqlcmd -S <ComputerName/IP>

"}" style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial;">but when I try to run sqlcmd on the command prompt, its not connecting to sqlcmd prompt, rather its throwing the following error.

"}" style="font-size:10pt;font-family:Arial;">

I have disabled my firewall setting and checked, same case. 

I wanted to automate the same through Jenkins, Can someone help me to fix this. 

Regards,

Dhamodharan.

Monday, July 15, 2019 8:19 AM

Answers

• Hi Olaf,

Thanks for the support, I was running the script file only which results in the same error. Now I have modified my script file and passing the credentials over the script itself. Now its working.

Regards,

Dhamodharan

• Marked as answer by DhamodharanD Monday, July 15, 2019 10:49 AM
    Monday, July 15, 2019 10:38 AM

All replies

• In your screenshot I can see, that you didn't address the server using the -S parameter

Olaf Helper

[ Blog] [ Xing] [ MVP]

Monday, July 15, 2019 8:33 AM
  • Is that default or named instance SQL SEVRER?

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/14815297/microsoft-sql-server-native-client-10-0-login-timeout-expired

Best Regards,Uri Dimant SQL Server MVP, http://sqlblog.com/blogs/uri_dimant/

MS SQL optimization: MS SQL Development and Optimization
    MS SQL Consulting: Large scale of database and data cleansing
    Remote DBA Services: Improves MS SQL Database Performance
    SQL Server Integration Services: Business Intelligence

Monday, July 15, 2019 8:36 AM