none
Project Server 2010 Demo - Visual Studio workflow

Question

• Hi Everybody,

I really need your help. I am just a beginner in Visual Studio, and facing a problem.

We are dealing here at the company with a Project Server 2010 demo environment and wanted to set up a workflow. As it is only doable - as far as I know - in Visual Studio 2010, first I just went through the http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee767694(v=office.14).aspx docs (lots of you guys recommended to review), added the Project Server and SharePoint Server Workflow tabs with the given components (Microsoft.Office.Project.Server.Workflow.dll and Microsoft.Office.Workflow.Actions.dll). It seemed to be working, I mean, I can see the components but they are somehow inactive (grayed out) so that I cannot use them to set up my first workflow in Visual Studio 2010 ever.

Thanks a lot.

Gabe

• Moved by Mike Walsh FIN Thursday, June 03, 2010 4:04 PM Project Server question gone lost (From:SharePoint - Workflow (pre-SharePoint 2010))
    Thursday, June 03, 2010 2:29 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hello Gabe20,

You don't really need to use the VS 2010 workflows.  Just use the standard workflows that come with SharePoint 2010.  The VS 2010 workflows are required when you need special handling and code requirements.

Michael Wharton, MBA, PMP, MCT

Sincerely, Michael Wharton, MBA, PMP, MCT, MCSD, MCSE+I, MCDBA www.WhartonComputer.com
    Thursday, June 03, 2010 7:38 PM
  • Michael,

thanks for your response.

Don't you think, that in case of setting up a customised workflow we need Visual Studio 2010? I am just asking, I do not have a solid knowledge on the topic at hand, but read something similar on the sites I was referring to in my first message.