none
Modification of the Work/Units/Duration formula used by Project RRS feed

• Question

• I have several years' experience of using Microsoft Project, predominantly to plan and track projects using the gantt chart functionality.  I have tried using the resourcing component of Project on several occasions in the past with much frustration, as I have not been able to get Project to do what I want.

I understand that the three variables used by Project are Work (in my case, hourly inputs of resources); Duration (the length of tasks); and, Units (which I understand to be the 'peak %' utilisation of resources).  I also know that Project allows the user to fix whichever variable they choose and then automatically updates the others variables when there are changes to the inputs.  For example:

- If Work is 'fixed' and changes are made to Duration, Project automatically recalculates Units (reflected in the resource usage sheet).

- If Duration is 'fixed' and changes are made to the number of Works hours, Project automatically recalculates the Units.

The problem for me comes when, for example, I am preparing a proposal and the timescales (and therefore duration of tasks) are fixed in order to meet key milestone dates prescribed by the Client, and the budget is also fixed, based on our best estimate of the amount of Work required to complete each task.  In this scenario, I would like to be able to fix Duration and Work and for Project to only recalculate Units.  Being able to effect this change would make Project so much more useful for me during the preparation of proposals and for subsequently tracking earned value during project delivery.

Is there a way to modify these relationships? I wonder if this is only possible by editing the code behind Project?  On the face of it, the change to the coding would be relatively straightforward - just switch the references to Work/Units/Duration in the relevant formulae.  Does anyone know if this is possible?

Thanks in advance