none
Cluster Setup and migrating VMS

Întrebare

• Hi all, 
    I am new to clustering and can definitely use your help.

Here is  my old set up 5 hosts each of them have around 4 vms 

Uploaded setup images in following link:

https://imgur.com/a/mFvZrnV

I have created a cluster by following these links

http://www.msserverpro.com/implementing-failover-clustering-windows-server-2016-hyper-v/

https://social.technet.microsoft.com/wiki/contents/articles/50774.deployment-of-a-hyper-v-failover-cluster-using-powershell.aspx

Here is the set up according to my understanding, please correct me if I have anything misconfigured or wrong architecture 
    I know that for 6 nodes one iSCSI target is a single point of failure but its temporary for now. ( I also feel  if I have alot of vms running on the nodes the target server will be a single point of failure

I am trying to export some of the VMS from the old set up to test them out on the cluster by export the vms 
    But I am having problems moving them to the shared volumes C:\ClusterStorage\Volume1 (CSV1)

The folder are 80 Gbs and take forever copying from an external harddrive to the CSV

Is there a better way to insert the old hosts drives into the iSCSI targer and putting them directly to F:\iSCSIVirtualDisks\CSV1? 

Also what is the correct way of importing the vms ? using hyper v on one of the nodes and then configuring them as a VM role in failover cluster manager ? 
    or add them directly as a new VM role in failover cluster manager?

I Hope I phrased everything in a clear way, let me know if I have any missing info.
    Thanks in advance 

4 iunie 2018 17:00

Toate mesajele

• Hello,

You can use Hyper-V Manager to move a running VM to a new Hyper-V Host. After you migrated the VM you can add the VM to the cluster with the Failover Cluster Manager tool as you already mention. The migration time depends on your storage performance, but with live migration your VM will be online while moving.