none
Error : Object required in vbscript

Question

• Hi,

I am new to Vbscript. I have got an error :Object required when i tried to unintall the product using the Command line : setup.exe -silent -deinstall -nowait -responseFile"Oracle11g.rsp"

Below is my code:

Option Explicit
    Dim SRCDIR, FSO, strRespFile, strCmd, WshShell
    Set SRCDIR = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject").GetFile(WScript.ScriptFullName).ParentFolder
    Set strRespFile = TEMPDIR & "\Oracle11g.rsp"
    strCmd = """" & SRCDIR & "\Installer\setup.exe"" -silent -deinstall -nowait " & _
             "-responseFile """ & strRespFile & """"
    WshShell.Run strCmd, 1, True
    If CheckError(SEVERE) Then
     LogMsg "Uninstallation will now abort.", SEVERE
     ExitScript(Err.Number)
    End If

'Wait for the Uninstallation process to complete
    LogEvent "Waiting for process to complete"
    Do While FindProcess("java.exe")
     WScript.Sleep(500)
    Loop
    LogMsg "Uninstallation process complete.", INFO

Please help me.

Thursday, July 21, 2011 3:55 PM

Answers

• We must not be seeing all of the VBScript code. And, the error message should have indicated a line number, which you can use to determine the line in the program that raised the error.

The error might be raised because you are invoking the Run method of the wshShell object, but that object has not been Set. You appear to missing:

Set wshShell = CreateObject("Wscript.Shell")

However, we also seem to be missing the code for the methods CheckError, LogMsg, ExitScript, LogEvent, and FindProcess. Are these defined elsewhere?

Richard Mueller - MVP Directory Services
    Thursday, July 21, 2011 4:06 PM

All replies

• We must not be seeing all of the VBScript code. And, the error message should have indicated a line number, which you can use to determine the line in the program that raised the error.