none
How to get serial numbers of monitors from remote computers

Question

• Hi everyone,

I am new to scripting and just started to use PowerShell.  I tried to get get serial numbers of monitors from remote computers and tried the following line on my own PC but get a message said, "Get-Wmiobject : Invalid Class".

The code that I used is

$trComputer = "."
    $collection = get-wmiobject -class "WinMonitorID" -namespace "root\WMI -computername $trComputer

I found this class from the WMI Reference but I cannot not see it in the WMI Object Browser.

Kind Regards
    Han
    Wednesday, June 17, 2009 4:04 AM

Answers

All replies

• You must have got the class name wrong. Where in the reference did you find WinMonitorID?
    You also miss the closing quotes around root\WMI. I suspect root\WMI is wrong too. Most hardware related classes are found in the root\cimv2 namespace.
    Wednesday, June 17, 2009 7:25 AM
  • It is actually WmiMonitorID and I beleive it is available on Vista and above (PowerShell v2 solution):

PS > $monitor = gwmi WmiMonitorID -Namespace root\wmi
    PS > ($monitor.ManufacturerName -notmatch 0 | foreach {[char]$_}) -join ""
    SAM

PS > ($monitor.UserFriendlyName -notmatch 0 | foreach {[char]$_}) -join ""
    SyncMaster

PS > ($monitor.SerialNumberID -notmatch 0 | foreach {[char]$_}) -join ""
    HVCP901666

Shay Levy [MVP]
    http://blogs.microsoft.co.il/blogs/ScriptFanatic
    PowerShell Toolbar
    Wednesday, June 17, 2009 1:24 PM
  • Nice, i didn't know about that one. 
    Any experiences about it? How well does it work? I mean how many monitors supply this information?
    Wednesday, June 17, 2009 1:28 PM
  • Many thanks for all the messages.  I will try it out and let you know.
    Thursday, June 18, 2009 1:11 AM
  • Hi,

I am sorry for not getting back to this for a while.

I did found out that this class is not available on XP and I have to work with XP for the moment.  I try this on Windows 7 and it works.  Many thanks