none
setting the working direcory for powershell RRS feed

• Question

• Ok ok, i'm a PS noob, I admit it.  In my defense, I am not a scripting noob (lots of python experience) nor a programming noob (lots of C++ experience).  And I know my question is simple and must have a simple answer.  So here it is:

How do I set the working directory to be other than c:\windows\windows32?  (My system is Windows 7 32 bit).

I would like to have powershell start with it's directory set to c:\scripts (which I have created) and have edited the desktop shortcut I created for powershell to put c:\scripts in the Start Up field.  No joy though - it still starts in c:\windows\system32.   Interestingly, I have done the same thing with powershell_ise and it does show c:\scripts as its working directory when i invoke it.

Thanks for the help,

bluewingedolive

PS: I doubt it makes a difference but i have issued set_executionpolicy remotesigned.

Sunday, October 17, 2010 4:18 PM

Answers

• PowerShell v2.0 is installed in the v1.0 by design.

------------------------------------------------------------------

As far as answering the original question, I'd suggest adding the following command to your PowerShell profile:

Set-Location c:\scripts

To Create a PowerShell Profile

1. Create a folder in your Documents folder called WindowsPowerShell
    2. Create a file called profile.ps1 inside this folder
    3. Add any desired initialization commands to this file (see above) and save it
    4. Every time you launch PowerShell, the profile script will be executed

More Information

For more information about how PowerShell profiles work, see:

Get-Help about_profiles

Alternatively, visit this link: about_profiles

Cheers

Trevor Sullivan
    http://trevorsullivan.net
    Friday, October 29, 2010 7:51 AM

All replies

• If you want to set the location in the current powershell session, use "pushd c:\scripts" or "set-location c:\scripts".