none
Reading & Writing CSV files RRS feed

• Question

• I am trying to read a CSV file and update one field (from user input) and write back to the same record in the CSV.  I am finding a lot of examples out there but none that talk about updating that record I read in and modified.  I am new to PS so still learning but would like some help.

CSV file format:

-------------------

Zone,SrvName,IP,ADDDEL,RRType,NewCname,AppName,UpdateBy,DateTime

zone1, server1,1.1.1.1,ADD,A,,Windows,Fred, 3/3/2018 2:15pm

Tuesday, April 10, 2018 7:39 PM

All replies

• You cannot output to the same file you are reading. 

Import-Csv file1.csv |
          ForEach-Object{
               # update records
          } |
          Export-Csv file2.Csv

I highly recommend doing the following tutorial before you attempt to use PwoerShell.

Learn PowerShell  
    PowerShell Documentation
    PowerShell Style Guidelines

\_(ツ)_/

Tuesday, April 10, 2018 7:54 PM
  • Well, I did a little reading and you can output to the same file, using the get-content and then set-content cmdlets it seems.   Now sure how I can use this code though for what I am doing.

(Get-Content"c:\temp\Notice.txt"|ForEach-Object{$_-replace"Warning","Caution"}) |Set-Content"C:\temp\Notice.txt"

Tuesday, April 10, 2018 8:40 PM
  • You can but it is dangerous because you can lose the file if there is an error.

The correct code is this.

(Import-Csv file.csv) | ForEach{ $_.column = $_.Column -replace 'xxx','yyy'}|Export-Csv file.csv

I do not recommend it as it serves no real purpose and using a separate file guarantees that you won't corrupt or lose the original.

Parens around an operation cause the operation to complete before sending into the pipeline.

\_(ツ)_/

Tuesday, April 10, 2018 9:09 PM