none
Help building script to collect file missmatch information RRS feed

• Question

• I want to start this off that I am a self taught google fu coder. 

I'm looking for assistance in building a script to collect information regarding files and folders in a share from a source server and then comparing it to several other shares that has the exact same structure and then reporting back what is / isn't consistent with the source server.

The point of this is not to just make the files consistent with the source, if that was the case I would just kick off a robocopy and overwrite everything.  I specifically need to know what files and folders are not in sync with the source.

What I am thinking is that it would query through the source folder structure and would record all files and folders in the structure, these would probably be recorded via the full system path.  Then for each folder it would collect the things like the creation date, last access date, last modify date, folder size etc.  For files in the same path it would collect the same information but will also generate a hash of the file that can be used to compare.  Don't believe its possible to create a hash of a folder as well, if it is I would love to see that as well.  Also if any folders or files are missing I need that info as well. 

After it built this list it would then go through the other shares and collect the same information, right now in my case there will be about 5 different servers that I will need to collect data on including the source server. 

For the output I am thinking something that shows the server with the file path and then some kind of spread sheet showing the other servers with a Y/N if they are consistent.  Eventually I want to roll this into a visual studio project to have a GUI on it so that everything can have pretty Green / Red boxes to display the info.