none
Powrshell adding certain objects from primary array into a secondary array and sorting

Question

• Hello,

I seem to be running into a problem copying objects into a new array and trying to sort the new array of objects. I suspect it's some kind of deep copy / shallow copy thing. 

Forgive me if I screwed up the code paste. I've never used it before.

The 2 resultant arrays do not sort. I suspect the $records array is getting manipulated.

Can you show me how to deep copy these system objects into the arrays so they will sort please?

Note: I have a method that checks for valid ips (not shown) which works fine

$records = Get-ADComputer -Filter {OperatingSystem -NotLike "Windows Server*"} -Property * | Select Name, OperatingSystem, LastLogonDate, IPv4Address

#Create arrays for both record types
    $invalidRecords = @()
    $validRecords = @()

foreach($record in $records){

#Add records to the appropriate array
           if( (isValidIP($record.IPv4Address) ) -eq $false ){

$invalidRecords += $record

}else{

$validRecords += $record

} 

}

#Sorting on Names
        $invalidRecords | Sort-Object Name
        $validRecords | Sort-Object Name

• Edited by mmurphy58 Wednesday, February 6, 2019 11:48 PM
    Wednesday, February 6, 2019 11:45 PM

Answers

• I was following the examples from Microsoft here:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powershell/module/microsoft.powershell.utility/sort-object?view=powershell-6Thanks you for pointing out the issue.

I'll work to understand this better, and get back. Thanks for pointing out the issue.

You are still not understanding that adding sort after a collecttion does not sort the collection.  It just outputs a sorted result.  Sorting to the console does nothing to the original collection. That is how the pipeline works.  It is not the old DOS sort utilities which sort a file into another file.5

$x = 10..1 
    $x | sort
    $x # not sorted
    $y = $x | sort 
    $y # sorted

\_(ツ)_/