none
Help with Printer selection script RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a noob with scripting and I need help writing a script to help our traveling users find and select printers at the remote sites.  Right now, I have an ugly solution where I wrote a script that will install the printer the user selects.  I have a separate script for EACH printer!  Then I have a folder that has shortcuts to each script with the location of the printer at that particular site.  So, what they see is:

Site 1
    Front desk color printer
    Front desk b&w printer
    Acctg printer
    Sales printer
    Main MF printer

There is a list like this for each site.  (The users have no admin rights and they are not adept at Windows.)

When the user double-clicks on a printer, it loads the drivers then asks the user if they want this to be their default.

I copy the folder with the shortcut to the Public/Desktop of each computer and the folder with the actual scripts to the root of C: prior to the laptops being deployed to the users.  If the printers change, I must update the folders on all laptops.

Like I said, ugly.

What I'd rather have is a script that will find the print server at each site (there is only one server of any kind at each site) then list the printers available and allow the user to choose the one they want.

I want it to just load the drivers and let them know they can print now.

Can this be done or would it be a terribly difficult and long script?  Oh, and since I'm a remote tech, I have no admin rights on the server (2003/2008) or ability to add login scripts etc.  Any help would be so appreciated!

Friday, November 8, 2013 2:37 AM

Answers

• No Bill.  I currently have something in place but it's ugly and not too slick.  As I said in my original post "